Week 6: Tomamos la Calle

This week has been one of my favorite weeks yet, which is funny because it is one of the least eventful! Wednesday was a fiesta (holiday), so I only had 3 days of class this whole week, and lots and lots of free time.

One of the hardest adjustments with living in Spain for me has been adjusting to the schedule, or lack there of. I am extremely schedule dependent, so in the US I generally like to plan out my whole day, hour-by-hour, but that just doesn’t fit the relaxed Spanish lifestyle. So, although it wasn’t a particularly exciting week, I really enjoyed it because I was able to have somewhat of a routine and feel productive.

Besides appeasing my controlling personality, I also spent a lot of time relaxing and enjoying the city. My girl friends and I spent most of the time going to the park, walking around the city, getting great tapas, and eating lots of ice cream. One night Sarah and I went to get tapas at Taberna los Coloniales, a tiny little bar in a small plaza in the centro, and had a “religious food moment”.

I have mentioned before how I think tapas is the superior dinner because it works perfectly with my indecisive, like-everything nature; I am able to try a little of everything that sounds good, plus I don’t get too stuffed.

For our little bites we ordered tomate alinado ordered (tomatoes dressed with olive oil and vinegar), croquetas de espinacas (little fried balls of dough and spinach), solomillo a la castellana (small pieces of pork loin with sauteed onions and mushrooms), papas a la brava (amazing little slices of crisp potatoes with a tomato sauce), tortilla de camarones (not completely sure, but a fried disc thing with tiny little shrimp in it). Everything was amazing and we both agreed we had a new favorite restaurant.

Sarah and I have been living wholeheartedly by the “don’t ask, just eat it policy”, which generally results in us tasting delicious food without having to know about the questionable ingredients. However, Sarah’s limit was pushed that night with the tortilla de camarones. I really liked this dish–it was a kind of crisp, fried tostada-like thing with tiny baby shrimp in it. Mid-way through eating it we realized that it looked like the shrimp weren’t shelled, but we figured they were so small it didn’t matter and we should just eat it.

So, Sarah broke a piece off the tortilla only to find a giant shrimp head with feelers sticking out at her. And that is when we realized we have a limit with the “just eat it policy.”

Obviously we had to top the night off with dessert and Sarah and I went to Rayas, this ice cream place right by the restaurant that some of my friends say is better than my favorite, go-to place. I have to say they are some stiff competition, but rather than pick one or the other, I can appreciate each one . Rayas is great for super rich giant cups of ice cream with cake, and chocolate, and hazelnut, and cream, and everything mixed in, whereas Villar (my usual place) is great for simple, light, perfect, amazing ice cream. Basically I can’t go wrong!

(agua de Sevilla)
Besides being gluttons, we also spent some time marking things off of our Sevilla bucket lists. One night we had a girls’ night and went to a neighborhood bar to try “agua de sevilla”, a local drink that is a mix of pineapple juice, champagne, some sort of liquor, and maybe cream? We weren’t entirely sure what was in the mix, which can apparently vary from place-to-place, and there was an unidentified foam on the top that reminded me of Alamo Drafthouse’s butterbeer.The taste was definitely unique, and I had a great time hanging out with all of my girl friends and trying something different for a night! (Have I mentioned how lucky I am to have such a great group of people??)
(Toma las calles protest)
Another day we had all met up to go walk to the park and check another thing off my list (feeding the pigeons), but we got distracted which led to us getting ice cream and stumbling on a protest. The protest, called “toma las calles”, started in Plaza de Espana, so we were hanging out and watching what was going on, but it didn’t seem like many people had turned out and they were just kind of standing around.

(Kathryn, Ryann, and Katie watching the protest)

We were dancing around and following a drum line into the street, and then we saw the real size of the protest. Giant groups of people were coming from different areas throughout the city and converging right in front of the university.

(Protest sign: Democracy has been lost. We have to unite and go to look for it)

We wandered around watching the swarm of people join together for a while, and then we climbed on top of a fence around the university to get a better view. We weren’t sure of the exact mission of the protest, but it was pretty comparable to the Wall Street protest in New York; the economy isn’t doing well, people can’t find jobs, and people want the government to do something.

(Group of protestors)

Of course, the protest was different because it was a Spanish protest. There wasn’t really any yelling, people didn’t get very riled up, and it seemed there wasn’t a universal point being argued. Rather, the people just walked slowly down the street, chatted with their friends, and the most action was around the drum line where people were clapping along and dancing. Once the final group of protestors passed, the Spanish street sweepers came out and followed directly behind everyone and cleaned up all signs of commotion.

(Protesting Dog: Pirate Party)

(cute matching family)

Finally, on Sunday, Sarah and I spent the day at the beach with two of our Spanish guy friends, Charlie and Javi. Going and relaxing at the beach was the perfect way to end the week, and I got to enjoy another beautiful sunset. (How is this my life?!)
One thought on “Week 6: Tomamos la Calle

  1. Sunset pictures are amazing! Sounds like you are having an amazing time! We need to catch up soon. It's been too long. I am not sure how I am going to do with you being abroad again next semester. Not being able to call whenever I want is killing me enough for this amount of time, what am I going to do next semester when we are on different time zones??? Miss you! I will be reading the next two posts after I post this comment. Keep up the blog! Great Job!

Leave a Reply

