The Galapagos

I ended my blog in Spain writing posts while procrastinating instead of studying for finals, and now I am starting my blog again for my trip to the Galapagos while procrastinating instead of studying for my final. How appropriate!Today is my first and only final, but more importantly,  it is also my last day in Austin before my month-long adventure to the Galapagos.Tomorrow I am heading to the Galapagos to the island of San Cristobal where I will volunteer and work at a school with special needs children through the program Projects Abroad. This program organizes for volunteers to go all over the world and, before landing on the Galapagos, I was considering spending this month in Tanzania, Thailand, Vietnam, and Fiji among others. It was pretty hard to go wrong.I chose to study in the Galapagos because one, I will be able to speak the language there, so I think that will make a more effective volunteer and I will get to practice speaking. Also, I thought I should take advantage of the opportunity to visit the Galapagos and see the amazing biodiversity and animals before it all disappears.

Aaaanyways, so that is why in approximately 12 hours I will be heading on a very round-about flight to the Galapagos.

I honestly have no idea what to expect once I get there. I am staying with a home stay family, and I know I am volunteering at the school, but that is ALL I know. Seriously. I don’t know a single other person on the island, I don’t know what exactly I will be doing while volunteering, I don’t know what the area is like, and there could be anywhere from zero to hundreds of other volunteers there (probably not hundreds, but I just don’t know!).

If you know me well you know that I like to have plans, which has lead me to constantly try to decide exactly what I will be doing from 5 years from now, if not 10 years down the road. Some might say that it is impossible to plan so far in advance, but that doesn’t stop me from trying! So maybe it is a good change that I can’t even try to make such extensive plans even if I wanted to. I will relinquish my control–or more appropriately, my delusion of control–and just take things as they come.

One thing I know I am excited for is to see all of the animals and wildlife, so I plan to take lots of photos and hopefully keep everyone updated through my blog. However, Disclaimer! Along with the many other things I have no clue about, I have no idea what my schedule will be like or what my access to the internet will be, so I hope to write frequent updates, but who knows what will happen. If I disappear after this short pre-departure post, I’m sorry, but you can’t say I didn’t warn you.

Well, I am off to finish packing and to go to sleep. I’ll send off with a picture of an island inhabitant that I hope to meet: a blue footed booby! And this guy looks like he is waving with his foot! Silly.

Hasta pronto

Leave a Reply

